

# INTERNATIONAL SHIPMASTERS' ASSOCIATION

#### **DETROIT LODGE NO. 7**

www.DetroitLodge7.org

TO: Members of Detroit Lodge No. 7 January 8, 2017

Detroit Lodge No. 7 is pleased to announce the results of the lodge election held on Saturday, January 7, 2017:

President: Kenneth W. Suddick First Vice President: John C. Mantyk Second Vice President: Neil C. Schultheiss Secretary-Treasurer: Raymond E. Oset Convention Delegate: Scott E. Reynolds Alternate Delegate: Kenneth W. Suddick

Board of Governors (three elected for a three year term):

Ron Ingram, Scott E. Reynolds, Paul M. Jagenow

Alternate Governor: Scott R. Skrzypczak

The following appointed officers will serve for the ensuing year:

Co-Chaplains: Rev. Paul A. Innes and Rev. Dr. Lynne A. Kogel

Marshal: Dennis E. Pomeroy Warden: Scott R. Skrzypczak Sentinel: Michael W. Nall

Lodge Surgeons: Dr. Thomas W. Baumgarten and Dr. Larry W. Stephenson

A nomination form for the Lewis Ludington Award is enclosed. The award is bestowed at Mariners' Church during the annual Blessing of the Fleet. A nominee must be a licensed mariner, a member of the I.S.M.A. and meet the standards listed on the nomination form. To prevent duplicity, a list the previous recipients of the award. Nominations must be submitted to the lodge's Board of Governors by the end of January 31, to be eligible for consideration by the Board.

#### **Upcoming Lodge activities:**

- Saturday, January 21 Joint evening meeting at First United Methodist Church of Hazel Park. Reception at 5:30 pm, potluck dinner at 6:30 pm (main dish provided by the lodge, please bring a dish to pass). At 7:30 pm, Tom McMullen will present: A 1000 ft. Freighter Trip from Duluth MN to St. Clair MI and another from Duluth to Burns Harbor IN. Also, Luke Clyburn will give his presentation: 40 Years at Sea on the Cadet Ships
- Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Island Cove Marina, 32081 N. River Road, Harrison Township Luncheon 12:00 Noon, meeting 1:00 PM \*\* Convention Delegate Receives Voting Instructions\*\*
- Thursday, February 2, thru Sunday February 5, 2017 <u>Grand Lodge Convention</u>
   127<sup>th</sup> Annual Grand Lodge Convention. Hosted by Northeast Michigan Lodge No. 19 at the Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center in Alpena, Michigan.
- **Saturday, February 11, 2017** Membership meeting at the J.W. Westcott Company, 12 24th Street, Detroit Luncheon 12:00 Noon, meeting 1:00 PM *Report of Convention Delegate*
- Tuesday, February 21, 2017 -- Membership Meeting at the Island Cove Marina, 32081 N. River Road, Harrison Township Luncheon 12:00 Noon, Meeting 1:00 PM. David Wright, Chief of Operations USACE-Detroit. Mr. Wright will be giving an update with what is going on with the Soo Locks.

Fraternally yours,

Raymond E. Oset Secretary-Treasurer



# INTERNATIONAL SHIPMASTERS' ASSOCIATION DETROIT LODGE NO. 7

www.DetroitLodge7.org

# The Captain Lewis Ludington Award

The Award Program is under the auspices of the Rector and the Board of Trustees of Mariners' Church and the Ludington Family, with the nomination and election of the honorees by Detroit Lodge No. 7, I.S.M.A.

- The honorees must be members of the I.S.M.A. and licensed Masters or Engineers who have been active in a career-long commercial practice of their profession.
- Primary consideration for the Award is given first to the active members of the Detroit Lodge, but the Board of Governors may also consider all other active members of the I.S.M.A.
- The criteria used for the appraisal of candidates are the values lived by Capt. Ludington and the virtues promoted by the I.S.M.A. which:
  - o Seek the blessing of God
  - Show brotherly affection and loyal duty
  - o Practice the Golden Rule: "As ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise."
  - Express gratitude to "Our Heavenly Father" for divine mercies, loving kindness and truth
  - o Hold the blessed hope of "casting anchor in the haven of eternal rest"

The Award is presented at the Annual Great Lakes Memorial Service with the Blessing of the Fleet held in Mariners' Church on the second Sunday in March at 11:00 AM.

A member of the Ludington Family makes the Presentation. The Award consists of a gold Mariners' shield lapel pin with an accompanying and appropriate certificate. The design of the certificate is germane to the layouts of official documents of the I.S.M.A. A copy of Captain Ludington's license with I.S.M.A. Pennant No. 1644, the Edgar Guest poem, and the Criteria are also presented to each honoree.

**NOTE**: This criteria was established in 1994 by then Rector of Mariners' Church, Richard W. Ingalls

\* All past recipients of the Ludington Award are from Detroit Lodge No. 7, unless otherwise noted with a lodge number following a recipient's name

## Past Lewis Ludington Award Recipients

Harry A. Anderson (4) Edward C.Baganz Mindaugas Balanda William G. Barnhardt (2)

Leonard Bartlett Richard J. Beauvais Robert L. Benkert Jeremiah L.Bissette (20) Ronald L. Brezinski (3) Russell D. Brohl (4) Samuel D. Buchanan John F. Callahan Michael S. Capser (9) G. Victor Chamberlain (4)

William E. Cline (2) Luther L. Clyburn John A. Cork (22) Theodore A. Cogswell Kevin P. Connolly Wayne A. Coulston Henry R. Cowan William H. Craig (4) James Daleski

Timothy J. Dayton (4) Marvin B. Donaldson Elmer V. Dunn Melvin E. Edwards

Donald E. Erickson Sven A. Fagerstrom Harold B. Ferriss Shirel D. Ferson Alan J. Flood John S. Frost

Warren F. Fuller

Robert W. Gasior (4) Michael A. Gerasimos

Gustav Goransson William J. Graham Kurth R. Grainger (18) Gerald M. Greig (15)

Robert R. Green Robert W. Haller (9)

Stephen E. Hammarskjold

George P. Haynes (2)

Arthur S. Herrala

Dean G. Hobbs (23)

William A. Hoey Joseph J. Hogan

Morgan L. Howell Robert Hull (15) Lawrence W. Huston Ronald R. Ingram William L. Jagenow

Robert F. Kerr

Philip J. Knetchel (9) Paul C. LaMarre Jr. Taylor M..Larson James Leaney John F. LeCom

Frederick D. Leete III (3) Thomas J. Leinweber

Jack P. Lyons

Constantine Markakis

Dale K. Mason Hicks P. McBeth (2) Thomas R. McMullen Steven A. Nelson James L. Nuzzo Thomas R. Ochs, Jr.

Seann O'Donoughue (15) H. James O'Hara Bernard Olsen

Patrick F. Owens Michael Pratt (20) James E. Ray Melvin E. Riecher

Richard R. Riley Joseph C. Ruch (2) Robert A. Sanderson Thomas J. Schnell John A. Sarns

Raymond Sheldon (23) George R. Skuggen (4)

Roger A Stahl

Mark P. Stevenson (3) John G. Tanner (23) Albert M. Tielke (4) James L. VanBuskirk John P. Wellington (22)

## LEWIS LUDINGTON AWARD

### **2017 Nomination Form**

The name of the following ISMA licensed mariner is hereby submitted to the Board of Directors of Detroit Lodge No. 7 for consideration as a possible nominee for the Captain Lewis Ludington Award. The presentation will be made in Sunday, March 12, 2017 during the annual Blessing of the Fleet at Mariners' Church:

Nominee:
On the space below, please indicate how the nominee has met all qualifications for the Captain Lewis Ludington Award. Please be specific with names and dates. The information given will be the primary information used to assess the nominee.

\*Nominations must be returned to Detroit Lodge No. 7 no later than January 31, 2017\*

Please return to: Raymond E. Oset Secretary-Treasurer ISMA Detroit Lodge No. 7

21718 Fresard Saint Clair Shores MI 48080-3919