

INTERNATIONAL SHIPMASTERS' ASSOCIATION DETROIT LODGE NO. 7

www.DetroitLodge7.org

January 9, 2015

TO: Members of Detroit Lodge No. 7

Detroit Lodge No. 7 is pleased to announce the **results of the lodge election** held on Saturday,

January 3, 2015:

President: Ronald C. LaPlante

First Vice President: Thomas L. Jannausch Second Vice President: Scott E. Reynolds Secretary-Treasurer: Paul M. Jagenow Convention Delegate: Richard S. Scott Alternate Delegate: Scott E. Reynolds

Board of Governors (three elected for a three year term):
Patrick A. Beard, Thomas R. McMullen, Richard S. Scott
Alternate Governor: Arthur B. Brooks III

The following appointed officers will serve for the ensuing year:

Co-Chaplains: Rev. Paul A. Innes and Fr. Russell E. Kohler

Marshal: Dennis E. Pomeroy Warden: John C. Mantyk Sentinel: Michael W. Nall

Lodge Surgeons: Dr. Thomas W. Baumgarten and Dr. Larry W. Stephenson

Congratulations and good luck to our new slate of officers.

The **next two lodge gatherings** will be on Tuesday, January 13 and Saturday, January 24, both at the Island Cove Marina. The January 13 meeting will be a business meeting for lodge members. The January 24 gathering will be an evening dinner meeting with members encouraged to bring their spouses and/or guests. The evening dinner will be potluck, and attendees are asked to bring a dish to pass. The lodge will provide beverages and the main meat course. Social hour will commence at 5:30 PM with dinner to follow at 6:30 PM. Following dinner, Ari Buchanan and Tom Caulfield will present a program on the Bay View Detroit to Mackinac Yacht Race. The program is titled: Greenhorn Kids Race the Mac."

This mailing contains a **nomination form for the Lewis Ludington Award**, which is bestowed at Mariners' Church during the annual Blessing of the Fleet. A nominee must be a licensed mariner, a member of the I.S.M.A. and meet the standards listed on the back of the nomination form. These standards were written by the late Bishop Richard W. Ingalls when the award was established back in 1994. Also listed on the back of the nomination form is an alphabetical listing of previous recipients of the award. The lodge's Board of Governors will select candidates for the award at its next Board meeting scheduled for Tuesday, February 3 at the Island Cove Marina. To be eligible for consideration, nominations must be received prior to that Board meeting.

A hearty welcome is extended to a new member who recently joined the lodge: Ryan L. Gazdecki of Livonia, MI (Active Professional). Congratulations to Ryan on becoming a member of Detroit Lodge No. 7.

Fraternally yours,

Paul M. Jagenow Secretary-Treasurer

DETROIT LODGE NO. 7 EVENING MEETING

An Invitation to all lodge and auxiliary members, spouses and guests

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Island Cove Marina, 32081 North River Road, Harrison Township, MI

Social Hour – 1730 hours

Pot Luck Dinner – 1830 hours

Please bring a dish to pass.

The lodge will provide the main meat dish and beverages.

Program – 1930 hours

Ari Buchanan & Tom Caulfield

Present

"Greenhorn Kids Race the Mac"

LEWIS LUDINGTON AWARD

2015 Nomination Form

(see reverse side for criteria & list of past recipients)

Γ	The name of the following licensed mariner is hereby
S	submitted to the Board of Governors of Detroit Lodge
N	No. 7 for consideration as a possible nominee for the
C	Captain Lewis Ludington Award, to be awarded in
N	March, 2015 during the annual Blessing of the Fleet
a	at Mariners' Church:
N	NOMINEE
	Please use the space below to state why you
	feel that this person should be considered
	for the Captain Lewis Ludington Award:
_	
_	
_	
_	
_	
_	

Nominations must be returned to Detroit Lodge No. 7 prior to the Board of Governors meeting scheduled for 11:00 AM February 3, 2015

The Captain Lewis Ludington Award

The Award Program is under the auspices of the Rector and the Board of Trustees of Mariners' Church and the Ludington Family, with the nomination and election of the honorees by Detroit Lodge No. 7, I.S.M.A.

The honorees must be members of the I.S.M.A. and licensed Masters or Engineers who have been active in a career-long commercial practice of their profession.

Primary consideration for the Award is given first to the active members of the Detroit Lodge, but the Board of Governors may also consider all other active members of the I.S.M.A.

The criteria used for the appraisal of candidates are the virtues promoted by the I.S.M.A. and the values lived by Capt. Ludington.

The Award is presented at the Annual Great Lakes Memorial Service with the Blessing of the Fleet held in Mariners' Church on the Second Sunday in March at 11:00 AM.

A member of the Ludington Family makes the Presentation. The Award consists of a gold Mariners' shield lapel pin with an accompanying and appropriate certificate. The design of the certificate is germane to the layouts of official documents of the I.S.M.A. A copy of Captain Ludington's license with I.S.M.A. Pennant No. 1644, the Edgar Guest poem, and the Criteria are also presented to each honoree.

Note: These rules established in 1994 by then Rector of Mariners' Church Richard W. Ingalls

** all past recipients of the Ludington Award are from Detroit Lodge No. 7, unless otherwise noted with a lodge number following a recipient's name

PAST RECIPIENTS**

Harry A. Anderson (4)

Edward C.Baganz

Mindaugas Balanda

William G. Barnhardt (2)

Leonard Bartlett

Richard J. Beauvais

Robert L. Benkert

Jeremiah L.Bissette (20)

Ronald L. Brezinski (3)

Russell D. Brohl (4)

Samuel D. Buchanan

John F. Callahan

Michael S. Capser (9)

G. Victor Chamberlain (4)

William E. Cline (2)

Luther L. Clyburn

John A. Cork (22)

Theodore A. Cogswell Kevin P. Connolly

Henry R. Cowan

William H. Craig (4)

Timothy J. Dayton (4)

Marvin B. Donaldson

Elmer V. Dunn

Melvin E. Edwards

Donald E. Erickson

Sven A. Fagerstrom

Harold B. Ferriss

Shirel D. Ferson

Alan J. Flood

John S. Frost

Warren F. Fuller

Robert W. Gasior (4)

Michael A. Gerasimos

Gustav Goransson

William J. Graham

Kurth R. Grainger (18)

Gerald M. Greig (15)

Robert R. Green

Robert w. Haller (9)

Stephen E. Hammarskjold

George P. Haynes (2)

Arthur S. Herrala

Dean G. Hobbs (23)

William A. Hoey

Joseph J. Hogan Morgan L. Howell

Lawrence W. Huston

Ronald R. Ingram

William L. Jagenow

Robert F. Kerr

Philip J. Knetchel (9)

Paul C. LaMarre Jr.

Taylor M. Larson

John F. LeCorn

Frederick D. Leete III (3)

Thomas J. Leinweber

Jack P. Lyons

Constantine Markakis

Dale K. Mason

Hicks P. McBeth (2)

Thomas R. McMullen

Steven A. Nelson

James L. Nuzzo

Thomas R. Ochs, Jr.

Seann O'Donoughue (15)

H. James O'Hara

Bernard Olsen

Patrick F. Owens

Michael Pratt (20)

James E. Ray

Melvin E. Riecher

Richard R. Riley

Joseph C. Ruch (2)

Robert A. Sanderson

Thomas J. Schnell

John A. Sarns

George R. Skuggen (4)

Roger A. Stahl

John G. Tanner (23)

Albert M. Tielke (4)

James L. VanBuskirk

John P. Wellington (22)